Again a breakdown ...

11/04/2012 23:45

 

 
... with almost fatal consequences ...
 
Another time the trigger for the whole debacle is an idiot, in this case, but perhaps also the savior of a worse disaster.
 
The good road allows a decent pace and I have no idea what an idiot I have to expect in the next curve. The Idiot is riding on my track, overtaking another vehicle. I have no other choice than to initiate an emergency stop, and steer Frido as far toward the rock wall as I can.
 
Just millimeter separates Fridolin from the Idiot-Van and all of a sudden I lose all braking power. The pedal is loose and I roll on at slow speed. The hand brake brings Fridolin finally to a stand.
 
"Phu that was close, but something is wrong with the brakes." I check everything and then I noticed a wet spot on the right rear brake. I place my self at the wet spot and ask Priti to press the brake, "STOOOOOP"! Chief Mechanic Giger has placed him self right in front of the hole in the steel brake pipe and a full load of brake fluid flushed in my face! Great!
 
With the help of a Nepali we disconnected de pipe and block it: Nepali style with a thin branch, and some cloth.
 
PHU, I think we had really in luck ... Imagine the brake pipe was broken on a steep road in a curve with a slope. That would not have ended well.
 

LINK TO THE PHOTOS: click here