Crankshafts and other disasters

27/05/2012 10:39

 

 
Content:
 
- Routine Check
- Crankshaft Disaster
- Assembly
- Tyre-Run
 
Routine check
 
Fridolin is already quite in shape. Two problems must be remedied, which would be: First, the newly purchased, used oil pressure indicator still does not work properly and secondly, the oil seal of the crankshaft is leaking again.
 
I drive Frido to Toyota Islamabad where immediately the pulley of the crankshaft is removed. "Big problem", how many times I've now heard this already? "ENOUGH, let me in PEACE!"
 
But yeah ... I should know better: All pushed away problems will eventually comes back. This is one of my Indian Workshop disaster three years ago. There a top bungler mounted a wrong nut for the crankshaft pulley, which has destroyed a portion of the crankshaft in Nepal. The emergency repair is now broken again. The notch in the crankshaft, which holds the pulley in place, is again torn out and the pin holds only a hair's breadth of material. AAAARGHHHHHHH!!
 
Crankshaft Disaster
 
Once again I have to decide: emergency repair or intensive intervention in the heart of Toyota. Nico comes in a week and by then the car must be ready. One week to take the engine out of the car, to remove the heart of it and repair the crankshaft anywhere in Pakistan and then build everything back together.
 
"Let's go: green light", I say and the same evening the work begins. The promised night shift is actually a reality and we are attending when the engine is took out of the car at nine clock night.
 
The following day I drive with the crankshaft, pulleys and other parts to the Saddar Bazaar in Rawalpindi, the nearest car bazaar. The crankshaft I put in the hands of the engineers of Ali Akbar and Sons and continue my search for the remaining parts.
 
After a stressful morning, I have a look to the crankshaft repairing and burst into the lunch of the workers. I am invited to the table and enjoy a delicious meal, cooked by the women of the shop owners.
 
The three brothers who are running the shop are extremely friendly. One of them is paralyzed by polio since childhood and can only hobble with a stick through the garage, but is the joy in person. The atmosphere in the small workshop is very good. All workers are motivated and oftenly laugh together. I am also impressed by the 12-year-old "apprentice" who can enjoy a training for his life.
 
The new crankshaft is welded and machined and this for a bargain of 26 US Dollar! Thank you all for the fair handling of my problem.
 
 
Assembly
 
With the other, in dozens of shops purchased, spare parts, we drive back to Islamabad. It is already late in the evening and the night guard let us deposit Fridolin's newly repaired "heart" in the closed workshop.
 
A slow start is performed in the morning by Toyota Islamabad. I must kick various asses until I'm finally seeing three workers on my car. After two days I have to do the electrical wiring by my self because the electric-bungler of Toyota Islamabad produce even more sparks then I usually do.
 
One day before Nico's arrival, Fridolin runs again. YIHAAAAA ... I hope, really strongly that this was the last intensive interventions to Fridolin!!
 

Link to the pictures: click here