No Vehicles in Bakthapur

11/04/2012 23:50

 

 
Content:
 
- Fridolin baned? Ticket? Parking ban?
- The streets of Bakthapur
- Roman in "diplomatic" mission
- Adieu Priti
 
Fridolin baned? Ticket? Parking ban?
 
YEA, but not with me!!! All day we've been traveling, seven hours of driving, dog tired, hungry, and the toilet is also calling for a long time.
 
I navigate through the narrow streets of Bakthapur's historic old town. I try to find this beautiful square with the outstanding temple I visited three years ago with Philip Deflorin?
 
Unnerving the narrow streets and now the babble of the dozen taxi driver. They say something of a driving ban, etc. "Yes, yes, no problem ... I'm a tourist" ("you with your old rust buckets are just jealous of big-Fridolin")
 
I try to focus and steer with my new Navigator Priti in a new street which is getting more and more narow. "AAAARH where does this little ticket office comes from??" Anyway, I ignore it...! Also, the men who storms straight out of the ticket-house: IGNORE! I am enough busy with the non-motorized traffic in this narrow street!
 
And then, finally, another bend and I see the temples and the corresponding square. "Aaarg, another guy and a No Parking sign" IGNORE, no parking sign is not a driving ban. Fridolin's 4'0l engine roars and I ignore the men and rush over the square, scare a few startled tourists and park directly in front of the Sunny Guest House.
 
In retrospect, I was told that there are new rules for the whole town:
- driving ban
- ticket necessary
 
(Oops, sorry I did not see the ticket office and I had no clue about the driving ban) 
 
BRAVO ROMAN ... Always with the head through the wall :)
 
 
The backstreets of Bakthapur
 
The old streets of Bakthapur are worth mentioning. There are everywhere small and even smaller shops and cafes. The Nepalese seniors are relaxing on the dozens of parks and children play happily in the car free!!!!!! streets. :)
 
We eat buffalo MoMo's in a mini shop and pay for the dish incredible 35 rupees (40 cents). MoMo's are stuffed dumplings that are steamed in a metal or wooden vessels. Very tasty!
 
Unnoticed Priti and I leave the "ticket zone" and this time are promptly stopped when we re-enter. ÄÄÄhm moment, but we come from within, why do we have to pay again? There is no way through ... but a few streets further the ticket men obviously sleeps and we can enter unnoticed. :)
 
 
Roman in the "diplomatic" mission
 
The camera is set up, placed on the tripod, photo assistant, Priti is ready. Only Fridolin needs to be rolled into the square to shot the ultimate Frido-Temple photo.
 
Brrruuuuummmm .... I drive straight into the crowd and become suddenly surrounded by police. "Uiii, today they take it serious with the driving ban!" You know it already: IGNORE! I want simply take this picture ... "Just a minute guys, I just want a photo, then I will move!" I argue. But the police remains hard and sent me away (of course only after I've taken a picture) ;)
 
What I did not know: I drove straight into a Chinese diplomatic delegation, which just emptied the main square in Bakthapur for security reasons. SUPER ROMAN that was perfect timing... Hopefully, the action does not lead to a Nepal-China conflict ... (? But what am I concerned? I'm Swiss ... so I'm neutral) :o) Haa haaa
 
 
Adieu Priti
 
After three wonderful weeks together in the mountains, Bandipur, Pokhara and Bakthapur, Priti leaves Nepal already again. It was a remarkable time.
 
Thanks for it Priti ...

 

LINK TO THE PHOTOS: click here