Welcome Nico in Islamabad

25/06/2012 13:49

 

 
Content:
 
- Welcome Nico
- Islamabad
- Handicraft festival and t^police idiot
 
Welcome Nico
 
I stand at the crossroads which leads to the airport and give a 10 rupee note to the ugly painted lady-boy. The story of these young men in women's clothes, begging at various intersections in Rawalpindi, is terrible. From the age of five the boys are hired to truck drivers. Some 10 US Dollars a family can earn monthly, but destroying an innocent life forever. How poor a family must be that they rent out there own child for the ridiculous amount of 10 US DOllar? Terrible.
 
I get not much further with my thoughts, because Nico's plane thunders just across the intersection. The Emriates logo can be seen very well, but Nico is hidden behind one of the rapidly passing windows.
 
After a waiting time I need to stop Nico fifty centimeters in front of me. He did not recognize me in my Pakistani dress that I specially dressed for his arrival. :o) The reunion is incredibly beautiful. In November 2008 I said good bye to Nico at the same airport, and now he has arrived, arrived again on the trip with Fridolin. Juhuuuuu .... (And he brings a lot of nice things with him... dried meat, Gruyere and Appenzeller cheese, sausages, lots of chocolate, a Tomazobi-shirt and many other things :) Thanks a lot dear Nico!
 
Islamabad
 
Since two weeks already, we sleep in the campsite next to the Rose- and Jasmin-Garden in sector G6. Islamabad is originated in the 60s on the drawing board and divided into different sectors. Each sector has a central market and the surrounding commercial and residential buildings. Grass areas are planned in the capital, generously, and the orientation is absolutely simple. But the planned order takes also the character of the capital. For me, no "real" life happens in Islamabad but it is still a nice place to stay.
 
We operate mostly in the market next to the nearby campsite. We eat Masala omelette with Parota and chai for breakfast, do whatever we do at the day and treat ourselves with a milk shake every evening after dinner.
 
Handicraft festival and police idiot
 
The bloody cop waved me away from the official car park and has ordered me in the farthest corner of this area. I know these guys enough! The only thing that idiot is try to do, is a demonstration of power and to maintain his ego!! I say f*** *** and asking back the parking price, my nerves are already on the limit. Then the parking-guy really does not want to give me my money back, while my carotid artery just jumps out of my neck! AAARGHHH!
 
I block the road until this bloody Chap pays the money back and park at the corner of a meadow. Another policeman, a whistle and I turn now completely in the red. Furiously I stomp on the man who orders me also of the meadow. Cursing, I walk back to the car, for me, the craft festival has just died. Nico gives me only a puzzled look :)
 
"Ok, Ok, you park here," the police officer calls me back. He has mercy with the angry tourists which endured in 2.5 years of travel simply enough authority bull shit. "You are our guest, park here at the VIP parking". "Thank you many times," I say, and we enter the terrain of the craft festival.
 
This shows then all the different crafts from all over Pakistan and let the trouble forget soon. A wonderful festival where you can get an idea of ​​the various works of different regions of Pakistan. Nico and I shop a little and later visit the impressive Pakistan-monument on a nearby hill.
 
 

Link to the pictures: click here